Franklin County commissioners ban employee travel to North Carolina, Mississippi

FRANKLIN CO., Ohio (WCMH)–The Franklin County Board of Commissioners voted Tuesday to ban non-essential travel to North Carolina and Mississippi.

Mississippi recently passed a law that lets churches and some private businesses deny services to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people because of religious beliefs. North Carolina’s “bathroom bill” directs transgender people to use bathrooms corresponding to the sex on their birth certificate in many public buildings.

Tuesday, the commissioners approved a resolution saying “no non-essential official travel by employees of the commissioners to the states of North Carolina or Mississippi shall be sought or approved until such time as the laws in those states no longer explicitly permit discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity.”

The travel ban affects only Board of Commissioners employees at all of their 14 various agencies, including Animal Shelter, Child Support, Economic Development, and Homeland Security.

What others are clicking on: provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s